Thread: Ed Seykota, The true trend-following trader

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 37
    Given: 26

Ed Seykota, The true trend-following trader

Part 1. Biography

Edward Arthur Seykota was born August 7, 1946. he’s a commodities trader, who earned S.B. degrees in Electrical Engineering from MIT and Management from the MIT Sloan School of Management, both in 1969. Ed Seykota resided in Incline Village, Nevada, on the north shore of Lake Tahoe, but recently moved to Texas. he is a American-born Dutch commodity trader. in studying to get knowledge and trading methods, Ed Seykota is a self-taught person who learns from experience. it emerged that back in the 1970’s, he conceived and developed the first commercial computerized trading system for managing clients’ money in the futures markets.

as a teacher and trading mentor, his students have now become powerful and well-known traders, including Michael Marcus, David Druz and Jason Russell from Salida Capital. Seykota's most impressive achievement was being able to develop client funds from $5,000 to $15,000,000, or around 300,000% within 12 years. although he's known as the greatest commodity trader of all time, Ed Seykota has always kept a low profile and a humble person in his life.

Part 2. Career